top of page
Search

A Hidden Beauty

The time we went to Smitswinkel Bay...



I once drove by this little area, on an impulsive drive around the coast. I told myself that I would return one day and hopefully make it to the bottom to experience it better.


Arriving here, we had no idea how to get down to the bottom. There is no road (there are no cars at the bottom) and there were no cars parked at the top (by where the road was). Nothing we read was very clear about how to get to the bottom, except for saying that you had to walk down. There were no clearly marked walking areas. I was starting to wonder how people got anything into the homes we saw at the bottom (we barely saw any boats there either).


We walked through this narrow path we found, in-between the foliage, and over some old wood where the path becomes less clear. When we eventually got to the beach area, we were very aware that this isn't a place that people visit often. We didn't see any people around (or in the houses) but we were very aware of their presence. We could feel eyes all around us, even though we couldn't see them. Every second there felt like we had overstayed our welcome. It is beautiful but I wished we were able to spend a bit more time there.


One thing I can say is that I wished the travel blogs/articles were a bit more honest: it's beautiful but stay at the top of the road, admire it from far, you won't feel very welcome when you make it to the bottom.











2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page