top of page
Search

My first sunset photos...




Before I got my DSLR camera, I had had my smartphone for about a year (a Huawei P9). It had an amazing camera and I felt like I had been seeing the world and it's beauty for the first time. I wanted to photograph everything. It also did not hurt that I was always getting praise for the photographs that I took. At first, I thought that it was the phone's amazing camera (I was never very good at taking compliments). It wasn't until I saw a colleague's photos that I started to wonder if the compliments may be true. He had the same phone as me, but his pictures seemed ordinary. I started to wonder if I had talent. That is when I decided to take the plunge and get a camera.


At the end of February, I decided to get an entry level camera: a Nikon D3600 double lens. Apart from the picture below the heading, these were the first sunset pictures that I ever took. They are from a place called Mouille Point in Cape Town.



This is a view of the surrounding area, known as Sea Point, in Cape Town. This is known for rich people that stay there, so it's very common to see people exercising, unprovoked, mid-morning...





The sun here is right at the bottom of ocean, with dramatic clouds. These types of sunsets are relatively common, as I would come to find out during my time photographing them, but they are never any less beautiful or less breathtaking each time.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page